News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/23/2021 2:03:27 PM to 9/23/2021 2:10:12 PM.

News Flash

Home - News Flash

Posted on: September 23, 2021

[ARCHIVED] News Release

News Release

Former Fort Collins Mayor Troxell and Hudson Police Chief Hirokawa named 2021 Sam
Mamet Good Governance Award recipients

Sept. 23, 2021, Westminster, Colo.– The Colorado Municipal League (CML) announcedtoday that former Fort Collins Mayor Wade Troxell and Hudson Police Chief Jay
Hirokawa have been named the recipients of the 2021 Sam Mamet Good Governance Award.The award, named in honor of retired CML Executive Director Sam Mamet, honors
individuals who exemplify and seek to expand the application of principles of goodgovernance.

Former CML Executive Director Sam Mamet said, “I remain humbled to have this award
named after me, and the list of nominees certainly exemplifies the best of municipalleadership in Colorado.”

"It is a distinct honor to be recognized in the name and legacy of Sam Mamet and for
the purpose of good governance, said former Fort Collins Mayor Wade Troxell. “Aslocal government officials, we have a special relationship to our communities and
responsibilities to our neighbors. We must embody the trust through our leadershipmaking Colorado's cities and towns ever stronger. Let's strive for exceptional
communities for future generations being our mission as we provide good governanceto all that we serve."

“I want to thank the Colorado Municipal League for the 2021 Sam Mamet Good
Governance Award. I am honored to receive this award in the company of those alsonominated in 2021,” said Chief Hirokawa. “I could not have been a candidate if not
for those I work with; they are the strength behind the leaders and managers. I havealways believed in don’t forget where you came from and lead by example.”

More information and videos of both winners is available at:

Award nominations were submitted by CML membership and voted on by members of theCML Executive Board. CML received 41 nominations for this year’s award.

Other nominees were:

* Delta City Manager Elyse Ackerman-Casselberry
* Mancos Town Administrator Heather Alvarez * Monte Vista Mayor Dale Becker
* Montrose City Manager Bill Bell * Mountain Village Mayor Laila Benitez

* Denver Councilmember Kendra Black
* Durango Assistant City Manager/ Transportation Director Amber Blake * Greeley Chairman of the Water & Sewer Board Harold G. Evans
* Nederland Town Clerk/Deputy Town Administrator Miranda Fisher * Nederland Town Administrator Karen Gerrity

* Wheat Ridge City Manager Patrick Goff
* Carbondale Town Manager Jay Harrington * Silverthorne Director of Finance and Administrative Services Laura Kennedy
* Frisco Town Manager Nancy Kerry * La Junta City Manager Rick Klein

* Nucla Town Clerk Melissa Lampshire
* Denver Clerk & Recorder Paul D. López * Basalt Town Manager Ryan Mahoney
* Idaho Springs City Administrator Andrew Marsh * Breckenridge Mayor Eric Mamula

* Kersey Town Manager Christian Morgan
* Thornton Councilmember Sam Nizam * Castle Pines City Manager Michael Penny
* Pagosa Springs Town Manager Andrea Phillips * Eagle Town Manager Brandy Reitter

* Littleton City Manager Mark Relph
* Sterling former City Manager Donald J. Saling * Westminster Mayor Anita Seitz
* Bayfield Town Manager Katie Sickles * Silver Cliff Mayor Harry (Buck) Wenzel

* Morrison Town Manager Kara Winters

Sarah WernerEngagement & Communications Manager
Colorado Municipal League1144 Sherman Street
Denver, CO 80203(303) 831-6411 · (866)

Facebook Twitter Email