Police Department

Our mission statement:

Creating an atmosphere of trust by ensuring community safety through professionalism, integrity and transparency.

Our values:

Professionalism, Integrity, Transparency

If you wish to contact the Police Department, please use the following telephone numbers:

EMERGENCY, CALL 911

NON-EMERGENCY MATTERS, CALL WELD DISPATCH, (970)350-9600, Option 4

Forms

Name (Link to Form) Staff Email
Criminal Records Request mcolpitts@hudsoncolorado.org
Ride Along Request mcolpitts@hudsoncolorado.org
Voluntary Witness Statement mcolpitts@hudsoncolorado.org


  1. Police Department

    Physical Address
    50 S. Beech St
    P.O. Box 351
    Hudson, CO 80642

    Mailing Address
    50 S. Beech St
    P.O. Box 351
    Hudson, CO 80642

    Fax: 303-536-4753
    Emergency: 911


Contact Information

Chief J. Hirokawa: 303-536-9311: jhirokawa@hudson-colorado.org 

Sergeant N. Brick: 303-842-2038: nbrick@hudson-colorado.org 

Reserve Sergeant L. Valencia: 720-325-3025: lvalencia@hudson-colorado.org 

Detective D. Kimmett: 720-753-2962: dkimmett@hudson-colorado.org 

Detective J. Carroll: 720-753-1329: jcarroll@hudson-colorado.org 

Officer D. Lawley: 303-710-2644: dlawley@hudson-colorado.org 

Officer R. Bowen: 720-383-0633: rbowen@hudson-colorado.org 

Officer E. Hernandez: 720-552-3338: ehernandez@hudson-colorado.org 

Officer P. Baca: pbaca@hudson-colorado.org 

The Police Department is Hudson’s law enforcement. The Police Department is responsible for crime prevention, traffic safety, public education, animal control and enforcement of applicable Town and state laws.

The Department is currently staffed by the Chief of Police, a Sergeant, a three deputies, as well as the Police Admin and two part-time Detectives. The Police Department emphasizes the protection of life, liberty and justice for all who reside in, visit or travel through our community. It is responsible for enforcement of Federal, State, and Municipal laws and ordinances, apprehension of fugitives and violators of law, and regulation of traffic.

The Police Department is also responsible for Animal Control, assisting with the Town’s yearly pet vaccination clinic and animal registration. The Police Department also assists SAFEbuilt, the Town’s contract code enforcement officer, with enforcement of the Town’s environmental codes.

During large scale emergencies the Police Department acts cooperatively with other agencies to protect all citizens. One such cooperative effort is the Critical Incident Response Team (CIRT).

The Police Department has several programs to assist citizens.

• Child Identification Kits

• Area Watch Request

• Fingerprinting

• Vehicle Identification Number Verification program

State Gun Laws

Citizens who plan to be away from Hudson for an extended period of time can submit an Area Watch Request. Officers will check your home or business to see that it is secure and undisturbed while you’re away. The Police Department asks for assistance from the community in gathering information regarding incidents within your area. If you have been in a traffic accident or a criminal act has impacted you, you can submit a Records Request to obtain information.

The Department is served by the Weld County Dispatch system. It also shares mutual aid with the Weld County Sheriff and neighboring police departments.